Play and Learn with FM Dino Ballecer

Another veteran chess coach is coming a long way to teach our Filipino youth! Right now, he holds an FIDE master title with 2 International norms already. One of his international norms was achieved in the 1st Subic International Chess Open in 2008, where he placed 12th place in the open division with a score of 5.5/9. He had no losses and seven draws. Still unsatisfied with his performance, he switched his focus to online chess, and immediately attained his Arena Grandmaster title! Any guesses who he is? Known for his aggressive approach in chess, FIDE Master Dino Ballecer will show you how chess should be done!

The College of Saint Benilde Blazers are the NCAA senior varsity team of DLSU – Saint Benilde. They were hailed as the champions five times in the years 2005, 2007 to 2009, lost to Colegio De San de Letrán in 2010 but again retook the crown in 2011 and 2012. For DLSU Saint Benilde’s first ever team win in September 2005, FIDE Master Dino Ballecer was placed on the first board and demolished his rivals from different universities to bag for himself a gold medal in the individual category, and successfully attained the Most Valuable Player (MVP) award, a special award only given to the best player of the playing field. Thanks to his fantastic plays in his assigned board, he helped his team taste the sweet victory. The man also played in the 8th Philippine University Games, or UNIGAMES for short, to represent the Blazers. The tournament was hosted in Bacolod, and unsurprisingly, they finished in first place both in the individual and team category. After finishing his five-year chess career with the team, he stayed with his alma mater as their assistant coach for two years. With his incredible teaching expertise, the team successfully became the champion the second time around in 2006 and 1st runner up the following year.

A master who should not be taken lightly.

1. Eisen Josh Benedick Ramos
2. WCM Chua Jia-Tien
3. Chua Siang-Zhe
4. Yaneah Sofia Tanguilan Morada
5. Yosef Immanuel Tanguilan Morada
6. Joash Alton Panopio Gumiran
7. Clark Enzo Inman
8. Aldrin Sotto Bernardo
9. Ran Zeth Marco Lubandina Magallanes
10. Princess Rane Lubandina Magallanes
11. Princess Dianna Pedros Simbajon
12. Samarth Tiwari
13. Jian Carlo A. Rivera
14. Vermond James Alianza