Play and Learn with NM Roland Joseph Perez

Third time’s the charm! The United Queens Chess Club is featuring one of our veteran coaches for this week’s Play and Learn with the Master, National Master Roland Perez, the head coach of The Colegio de San Juan de Letran chess team that has produced several star players in the junior and collegiate divisions who represent the school in the NCAA Chess Tournament. Thanks to his incredible teaching prowess, he now boasts thirteen champion titles representing the red and blue flag.

For more than a decade, he has been mentoring superstar players. In 2008, he was officially appointed as the Chess Coach of the Philippine Team for the World Youth Chess Championship in Vung Tau, Vietnam. Since then, he continued to pursue his dream in teaching young and amazing chess players. As his passion for chess did not waver, he was given the responsibility to lead the College of San Juan De Letran Junior and College Team to victory. By 2016, the Letran Squires in the Junior Division stopped the San Beda Chess Team in its tracks with a clean sweep of 4-0 to become the overall winners of the NCAA Season 92. The four-man team was composed of Mark Daluz, who was awarded as the Most Valuable Player, Melito Ocsan, who is now a player in UST, Eric Yap in Board Three and Alexis Osena, the only female in the team. They recorded a total of three championship titles under the guidance of the National Master. On the other hand, the Senior Team has also their fair share of winning in the 85th Season of the NCAA Chess Tournament under his tutelage. He was crowned as the Coach of the Year, while one of his players obtained the Most Valuable Player award in the elimination round.


1. Cassey Miguel Tabamo
2. Christian Gian Karlo Arca
3. Aldrin Sotto Bernardo
4. John Luis Rivera
5. Arleah Cassandra Lorico Sapuan
6. Yaneah Sofia Tanguilan Morada
7. Yosef Immanuel Tanguilan Morada
8. Joash Alton Panopio Gumiran
9. Vermond James Alianza
10. Jian Carlo Alberto Rivera
11. Eisenjosh Benedick Ramos
12. Chua Siang-Zhe
13. Jonas Fruelan Labaja
14. Dwayne Alekhine Lorico Sapuan
15. WCM Chua Jia-Tien